Meeting Dates

August 11 - Laughlin PD Center, Summerfield
September 4 - Room 104 Washington Street Annex, Greensboro
October 2 - Brunson Elementary School, Winston Salem (meeting cancelled)
November 6 - Room 104 Washington Street Annex, Greensboro
Please be sure to complete the GTN Survey. This was emailed to you in early October.
January 8 - Ragsdale High School Media Center, Jamestown
February 5 - Pilot Elementary, 4701 Chimney Springs Drive, Greensboro, NC 27407
March - Sign up for a small group meeting (3/16, 3/18, 3/19, 3/23, 3/26)
April 16 -Washington Street Annex, Greensboro
May 7 - Mendenhall Middle School, 205 Willoughby Blvd. Greensboro

Webinar Dates (Sundays @7:00 pm - all webinars will be recorded and posted)

All recordings are posted in the Shared Google Drive Account


9/21 - Selection of data and creating an assessment plan
10/19 - Collection and organization of data for research
11/16 - Identification of barriers and limitations that have impacted your research and how to address that
1/25 - Coursework, wikis, and Q and A
2/15 - Making adjustments to research, data, and documenting plans
3/15 - TBD
4/19 - TBD



GCS and WSFCS Participants



EMAIL
GTN Topic(link to your GTN Wiki)
Grade Level
Bobbie
Barton
bartonb@gcsnc.com
Literacy Interventions
6-8
Jane
Brandsma
brandsj@gcsnc.com
ELLs challenged by MATH 1 linguistic complexity
9-11
Leslie
Carriker
carrikl@gcsnc.com
RtI strategies with gifted learners
9th
Payton
Dockery
dockerp@gcsnc.com
Explicit comprehension strategy instruction
1st
Susan
Long
longs@gcsnc.com
Teacher and Student Tech-Mentors
3rd-5th
Vanessa
Esquivel
esquivv@gcsnc.com
Strategies that help students when taking tests
2nd
Teresa
Fulk
fulkt@gcsnc.com
Hands-on science
K-5
Beth
Hair
haire@gcsnc.com
Co-teaching: 2 OCS teachers, 1 virtual general educator
9-12
Tiffani
Ingram
ingramt@gcsnc.com
Culturally Relevant Instruction through multiple intelligences

Cherlyn
Kelley
kelleyc@gcsnc.com
Building perseverance in problem solving through the use of math journals
4
Heather
Manka-Pendrak
mankaph@gcsnc.com
How NC Industry can help Shape education
9-12
Jennifer
McClinton
jomcclinton@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
Effects of Fluency and Vocabulary Instruction on Reading Achievement
3rd
Joy
McClure
mcclurj@gcsnc.com
Reading interventions based on Cognitive Reading Model
K-5
Cassie
Miller
millerc@gcsnc.com
Effectiveness of AVID strategies (note-taking and Costa questioning) in increasing students' critical thinking skills in social studies.

Diane
Morrow
dsmorrow@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
The Use of Publication to Improve Argument Writing in High School Juniors
11th
Debra
Ramey
rameyd@gcsnc.com
Enhanced engagement of students through the use of Web 2.0 and 3.0 tools
9-12
Kirsten
Scheu
kscheu@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
Social Emotional Learning and Character Education
PreK-5
Rosalinda
Turner
rrturner@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
Improving ELL Writing Skills Using the SIOP Model
4-5
Brittany
Guy
bjguy@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
Personalized Professional Development
Adults


Conference Presentation Resources


CCSA and Conferences: Presentation Skills for GTN teachers: http://bit.ly/GTNPresentationTips

We have prepared a slide deck to provide a bit of guidance and uniformity, but you have liberty to be creative to meet the needs of your specific topic. We do ask that you use some of the basic GTN information slides and definitely the GTN logo.
__http://bit.ly/GTNPresentersTemplateSlides__

There will be a webinar entitled GTN Designing Effective Professional Presentations on Feb. 4 at 4:00 pm. All GTN Teachers are welcome.

Registration link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6032101473930917121


Additional Resources

Shared Google Drive Account

Timeline and Deliverables

GTN Project Timeline

Pathway 1 Syllabus


GTN Initial Training - June 30 and July 1

Parking Permit for Washington Street Annex